HIT AND RUN
Hit and Run Defense Attorney
According to Florida Statute 316.061 the crime of Hit and Run crime is defined as any person involved in an automobile accident who fails to remain at the site of a vehicle crash and fulfill other statutory duties, when the crash at issue involves death, bodily injury, or property damage. A person involved in a crash is required by Florida Statute 316.062 to provide their name, address, registration number, and if requested, and driver’s license(s) of people in the vehicle at time of accident.
Additionally, if someone is injured in an automobile accident, you are required to render reasonable assistance to the injured. If you leave the scene of an accident and a party has been injured, you could be charged with a felony.
- up to sixty days in jail;
- up to six months of probation; and
- a $500 fine.
The crime of Hit and Run (if injuries are involved) is a third-degree felony and is punishable by:
- up to five years in prison;
- up to five years of probation; and
- a $5,000 fine.
The crime of Hit and Run (if accident resulted in death) is a first-degree felony and is punishable by:
- up to thirty years in prison;
- up to thirty years of probation; and
- a $10,000 fine.
Hit and Run may be combated with several defenses established by the details and facts of each individual case. Potential defenses include:
- Lack of knowledge that an impact or crash occurred;
- Disputes of identity of drivers involved in crash;
- Assistance was reasonable;
- Failure to stop was necessary considering the situation/circumstances of accident; or
- The other driver’s belligerent behavior caused defendant to flee.
If you find yourself standing accused of a Hit and Run you need to be sure you have a good lawyer on your side. Facing Hit and Run charges, can be tricky without the proper representation. For a free consultation with an experienced criminal defense attorney in Orlando, contact Sercombe Law. We routinely handle matters in Orange County and nearby jurisdictions.